#momguilt

Let’s be honest. Every mom feels guilt at some point in the parenthood journey. Today I feel lots of guilt. My kids have suddenly decided that mommy can’t be away from them. So before we even left the driveway my son was asking me to “go to his church.” He thinks that being in the nursery is a punishment…it’s not…I promise.

As we were walking in, our daughter tripped and fell and busted her lip. She has done this more times than I can count in the last two and a half years (because of an overbite so we don’t pay it a huge amount of attention when it happens). Then we get inside and realize she actually was bleeding. So I take her to the bathroom to clean her up and realize she also chipped her front tooth. Chipped it! Gah! Talk about guilt! My adorable little princess fell because I was trying to fight her brother to get his shoes on (a battle I lost, yes he went to church barefoot in October…no judgement please).

Then of course we go in the nursery Kayson is begging me to stay. I bribed him with food…and his sister. Still sniffling from her fall. After making sure they are safe, happy, and distracted I made a run for the sanctuary with my husband. No tears! Horray! One time without tears.

Tomorrow I will have to show her case worker (her adoption still isn’t final) and call the dentist. Tomorrow I will cuddle her and hold her and try my best to keep her safe. Isn’t that half of parenthood for us? We spent their entire lives trying to protect our kids, especially kids like mine that we have done nothing but fight FOR. I fight for my kids. I wanted them when no one else did. So why do I feel guilty when one of my babies is hurt, or crying, or upset? Because I am a mom. Being a good mom brings on a level of guilt. Is it a bad thing? No. is it a good thing? Sometimes. Feeling guilty is human.

As sinners we need to admit that we are guilty of this world’s desires. We need to let go of our guilt and know that the Lord God of heaven and of earth is the only person who can remove our guilt, but only if we ask. He is our good father. Just like even though accidents happen, I need to remember I am a good mom.

Leave a comment